top of page

HCBC - Winter Snowflake Ornament Box

I hope everyone had amazing holiday celebrations these past couple weeks. I'm scrambling to finish up some of my posts for my holiday projects before the New Year.


You may recognize this ornament I created, but now I'd like to share details about the coordinating snowflake ornament box I designed. The details for this floating snowflake ornament can be found here.


I'm also entering this ornament box into the current theme challenge at TGIF #296 - "Let It Snow" and SUOC Challenge #265 - Winter


I've been making custom ornaments for years, and I used to create a box bottom and box top separately from two 8.5x11 sheets of cardstock. I only needed a 6.5" square of paper from each sheet, which left a lot of remaining scrap paper!



This year I finally re-designed my ornament box to use a single sheet of 8.5x11" cardstock, far less waste. There are a couple variations to the dimensions because I commonly make DIY ornaments that are 1.5" thick (ArtMinds 3" glass disc) and another that is 1.75" thick (ArtMinds 3" plastic disc). One additional variation is... if I want to add a fancy peek-a-boo die cut (like the largest snowflake from the So Many Snowflakes dies) or texture from an embossing folder- then the Box Top portion of my paper needs to be trimmed to 6" wide.



I have a dimension template available below for each of the 3 variations that I commonly make.





I created a step-by-step video tutorial for this project on YouTube and IGTV.


Thanks again for stopping by! If you LIKE this post, please click the ❤️ icon below. If you LOVE this post, please subscribe. If you want to comment or ask a question without joining my website look for the blue comment box at the bottom of this page.

76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page