top of page

HCBC - Easter Friends Masking

Updated: Mar 21, 2022

Hello and Happy Tuesday! I'm here today to share with you a Back to Basics card. At least this is Back to Basics for me... I often stamp on my cards, but I also add a lot of other techniques. This card was about creating a scene with the cute bunny from the Easter Friends stamp set. I'm entering this card into the Just Add Ink Challenge #594 - Just Add Masking.





I'll be doing a live tutorial tomorrow Wednesday 3/15/22. After the live, I will have the full tutorial video linked here.


Techniques

  • Masking to Create a Scene

  • Stamping-off (2nd generation stamping)

  • Light Watercoloring

  • Detailing with Stampin' Write Markers

  • Shading with Watercolor Pencils

When it comes to masking, my go-to product is full-stick Post-It Notes. If my stamp won't fit on that 3"x3" size, then I'll use a bigger masking paper. Another option is to use a piece of copy paper and a low tack tape to keep the copy paper in place.


Also, my recently discovered tip, when fussy-cutting your mask, make sure to cut towards the inside of the "outline" of your stamp. Even the thinnest copy paper will still result in a "void" border around your stamped image. By cutting your mask thinner, your background color (if stamped) should go right up to your stamped image. The blue below is my post-it mask, and you can see the brown stamped image beyond the mask.



I then used the Oceanfront and Mountain Air stamp sets to create a grassy field background scene. This was directly inspired by another project on Pinterest but I couldn't find the crafter or the blog post for it.



I used the Water Painter with very little water squeezed into the brush to make the stamped bunny image a little softer and to add more color. The Black Stampin' Write marker was used to color in the eyes and outline the nose.



The final detail was added using the Early Espresso watercolor pencil. I added shading in various places of the bunny to add depth, as if the sun was shining from above.



You can check out a fun 60-second video reel showing the creation of this bunny scene here. Or check out the full tutorial below.



Materials:

- Soft Suede, Garden Green, Balmy Blue, Crumb Cake


Thanks for stopping by! If you LIKE this post, please click the ❤️ icon below. If you LOVE this post, please subscribe. If you want to comment or ask a question without joining my website look for the blue comment box at the bottom of this page.


918 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page