top of page

HCBC - Various Ways to Use a Background Stamp

Updated: Dec 10, 2021

I recently had the opportunity to show many different ways to use a background stamp, outside of the obvious. My son and I had a lot of fun creating this variety of projects.


1) Creating Designer Series Paper / Patterned Paper

2) Cards Using Scraps

3) Heat Embossing

3a) Eclipse Technique

3b) Clean & Simple (CAS) Card Using Framing

3c) Heat Embossing with Ink Blending on Color Card Stock

3d) Heat Embossing with Ink Blending on White Card Stock

4) Coordinating Envelope (and Treat Bag)

5) Ink Blending Direct To Stamp



1) Creating Designer Series Paper / Patterned Paper

I used the background stamp to create a 4.25" x 5.5" piece of patterned paper, and then I cut it down into pieces to create my Ghirardelli Treat Bags (tutorial found here).


For the Treat Bag: One 4.25" x 5.5" sheet of custom dsp is enough for 1 treat bag.


I used the Poinsettia Petals dies, Poinsettia Place stamps, the Lovely Labels pick-a-punch, and the Real Red Faux Linen Ribbon** to decorate the treat boxes. (**Sneak peek, coming Jan 2022)



2) Cards Using Scraps

There were a lot of skinny little scrap pieces of paper after using the bulk of the paper to make the treat boxes above. I used the layout from Freshly Made Sketches - Challenge #515,


I used a real red cardstock strip (1.5"x 5") to glue the scraps that were intentionally cut at various angles. Then layered that onto another piece of real red cardstock to add a border around the scraps. I used the Wrapped in Texture - retired embossing folder to add some texture under the scraps, the "Merry" is from Word Wishes dies, and "Christmas" is from the Peace & Joy stamp set. I wrapped a skinny silver cord ribbon to add some interest to the scraps as well.


Check out the video below to see how I easily glued the scraps together.




3) Heat Embossing (Eclipse, CAS and Ink Blending)


3a) Eclipse Technique

I heat embossed white (optionally you could use clear embossing powder as well) on white cardstock to add a very subtle background. And then I used the Playful Alphabet dies to create an eclipse technique for the word Merry. I stacked 4 additional layers of Real Red under the top white layer for the word Merry. "Christmas" came from the Snowman Season stamp set.




3b) Clean & Simple (CAS) Card using Framing

I heat embossed White on Real Red cardstock and was able to cut 4 pieces of 2.25" x 2.25" (for 4 total cards) from one background stamped piece. I layered the heat embossed piece on a Real Red layer, and tied it with the Real Red Faux Linen Ribbon from the new January 2022 catalog. The sentiment is from the Penguin Place stamp set.



3c) Heat Embossing (with Ink Blending) on Color Card Stock

I saw this inspiration on Pinterest. I heat embossed white on Real Red cardstock and then ink blended with Cherry Cobbler and Merry Merlot to add some interest to the embossed piece. I added ribbon, and a Real Red card stock layer. The critters are fussy cut from the SAB Penguin dsp, and the sentiment is from Penguin Place.


3d) Heat Embossing (with Ink Blending) on White Card Stock

I used white embossing powder on white card stock and then proceeded to ink blend a rainbow of colors. This was such a fun technique that my son joined me in making a rainbow candy cane card.



4) Coordinating Envelope (and Treat Bag)

This was inspired by Sara D (Stampin' Up CEO) from an Instagram Reel making a Treat Bag from an envelope. Who doesn't like a coordinating envelope to match your candy cane card, and then also turning an envelope into a treat bag, so creative!



5) Ink Blending Direct To Stamp

I used the ink blending brushes, or you could use little ink spots to add a bunch of color directly to the stamp. Once you apply it to the paper the you can get rainbow candy canes.



Thanks for stopping by! If you LIKE this post, please click the ❤️ icon below. If you LOVE this post, please subscribe. If you want to comment or ask a question without joining my website look for the blue comment box at the bottom of this page.


83 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page