top of page

Alcohol Ink Roses for the Card Crafters Collaborative

Updated: Apr 5, 2022

Hello all! Today's blog post is to share my own technique twist for creating roses with Alcohol Markers on Vellum. In today's post / video I share tips on minimizing the warping of the vellum, how to adhere the finished vellum to your card front, and dive deep into my alcohol marker ink roses technique.


My inspiration for alcohol ink roses has always come from @anneroosart. I’ve taken her Basics & Roses online courses and highly recommend it.

This card is also being entered into the Just Add Ink Challenge #592, Just Choose Two, Flowers, Paper, Pattern. My card features Flowers and Pattern.




This video was created as a part of the Card Crafter’s Collaborative, hosted by Robin Marshall Clark The Delta Crafter. We are coming together today to foster the positivity within our paper crafting community with the common theme of Spring Florals.


Host: Robin Marshall Clark @TheDeltaCrafter

Rae Hunter @ArtsyFaithRae

Ardyth Percy-Robb @ArdythPR1

Channin Pelletier @ChanninPelletier

Mirisha Dean @TheDiaryOfBelleRose

Joy Baldwin @CreateItWithJoy


The primary supplies used for this technique are the Stampin' Blends alcohol markers and vellum by Stampin' Up. (A complete list of materials is listed below). The Natural Tones Blends color collection was introduced earlier this year and was a much needed product in our crafting industry. Inclusion and Diversity is so important in all aspects of life, I am so happy to see this important step from Stampin' Up!.


Tips to Minimize Warping of Vellum

First off, let me explain why I choose to use vellum... simply because it's already in my craft stash, AND I can get 80 sheets for $10 (Stampin' Up!). I trim each 8.5 x 11" sheet of vellum into 4 pieces of 4.25 x 5.5". If you've every shopped for Yupo paper or other non-porous paper, it's not cheap. Also, I recently purchased vellum from Michael's craft stores, and the way it's packaged... the sheets were already warped...


However, using vellum comes with some hurdles to overcome. The main concern is warping. When you add liquid (alcohol) in large quantities and apply heat, it could be a recipe for disaster.


My number one tip for minimizing warping is using a method to lay the edges of the vellum flat while you're creating. My go-to option is a magnetic mat. I've had this in my stash for more than 3 years... you can get it as cheap as $8.49 from Joann Fabrics craft stores (deal found on 4/1/22).


If you have another magnetic surface, like a stamp platform, that could work also...


Other options are using a craft mat or glass mat as your surface, and using a low tack tape on all 4 edges.


My final suggestion, is to adhere your vellum to a piece of white card stock (which I normally do after my creation), but you can do this ahead of time to give it a more sturdy surface. I recommend using a tear tape or tape runner (any double-sided tape) around the edges to apply the vellum to the card stock. You'll be applying heat to the center of your vellum, and if you use a full adhesive sheet, I'm not sure how that will hold up after your entire creation is made.




Adhering Vellum to a Card

The 2nd biggest hurdle to overcome when working with vellum is how to adhere it to a card front. Hopefully you've minimized warping, and if so, here are a couple different ways I've adhered the vellum.


1) My preferred method, is using an adhesive sheet to cover the entire back of your vellum panel, and then adhering it to a piece of white cardstock. White card stock really makes the colors on the vellum pop, and the adhesive sheet will help lay down the entire vellum panel even if there is a little warping.


2) You could use a tear tape, or any other double-sided tape to adhere the edges of the vellum to card stock, and if you happen to see the adhesive (enough to bother you) you could cover it up with a rectangle frame. I like this method because it's like you're framing a piece of artwork.


3) A final way I've applied my alcohol ink art vellum to a card is by framing it with a hand-cut, or die cut piece of card stock. In this example, I fussy cut a curved line, added a gold embossed edge to it, and adhered it beneath the cut card stock.



To learn how I make the roses with Alcohol Markers on vellum check out the video below. I have another blog post from last year with really great step-by-step information as well.




If you shop with me April 2020, spend $50+ , use the host code Q3CXFQ2P and I'll send you a special gift!


Materials for the Technique:


Materials for the Finished Card:


Thanks for stopping by! If you LIKE this post, please click the ❤️ icon below. If you LOVE this post, please subscribe. If you want to comment or ask a question without joining my website look for the blue comment box at the bottom of this page.



1,262 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page