top of page

HCBC - A Single-Layer Snowflake Card

Updated: Dec 30, 2020

Today’s card is inspired by the Just Add Ink #533 Alphabet Challenge “Just Add S”. I used four “S” elements, tools and techniques; Snowflakes from the Snowflake Wishes stamp set, Snowflake Sequins, and I used Sponge daubers to color in the ornaments, as well as Silver embossing powder for the bow/String on a Single-layer card layout. Fun fact - this is my first ever single-layer card!!





Additional inspiration came from Jennifer McGuire's tutorial for Creative Masking. I went through some trial and error and found techniques that work for me using the tools/supplies I had on hand. In her tutorial she mentioned heat embossing first before inking, and that didn't work for me. She also used some amazing masking paper, and I used cardstock and a Foil Quill magnetic mat from We R Memories.



I tried heat embossing before ink blending, and then vice versa, and I prefer ink blending first, then heat embossing white snowflakes afterwards. I also tried adding some shading to the ornaments, and preferred the boldness of the solid color.


The colors of inks used are from Stampin' Up; Coastal Cabana, Gorgeous Grape, Pacific Point, Rococco Rose, and Pretty Peacock. The bow stamp came from the So Much Happy stamp set and the straight line stamped image came from Dec 2018 Paper Pumpkin subscription set "Day by Day".



Thanks again for stopping by! If you LIKE this post, please click the ❤️ icon below. If you LOVE this post, please subscribe. If you want to comment or ask a question without joining my website look for the blue comment box at the bottom of this page.



35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page