top of page

February Craft Event Preparation




I have had the amazing opportunity to hold four standalone craft events for my community in the last year with 20-40 craft participants at each. I have such a passion for crafts, I am so blessed for the opportunity.


With Valentine‘s Day around the corner it was time to start planning the next event. For at least a month, I’ve had the idea of teaching How to make a shaker card as one of the next themed projects for awhile, and I just recently came across the MFT Inspirations & Challenges blog; Monthly Birthday Challenge.


So off to the drawing table I went...


I hopped on Pinterest, YouTube, and some of my “Go To” locations for inspiration and found several different ways to make a shaker card.

Then I logged into Cricut Design Space’s iOS app to begin designing a card base and pieces that will help me prep 20+ project kits. I came up with a couple different bases (heart and basic circle for a double-window Shaker Card, as well as a more simple single-window Shaker card concept.



The gray pieces are a top folding card base, the two white pieces are for the inside and one of the front layers. One of the white pieces also has an outlined heart that I used to frame the shaker window on the inside of the card. The pink layer is for your designer paper. I just used hand cut rectangles of acetate (clear plastic material) for my shaker window covers, vs putting another mat through my Cricut Maker.


The blue piece is for my very simple washi tape card sample (geared for the 2-4 year old crafters at the event).


The red/gray hearts are for the single-window shaker card samples. Red is your front window frame and the gray is for the acetate.


Testing out my Cricut-designed project, I made the circle shaker card for the MFT Monthly Birthday Challenge and all the other cards as additional samples for event-participant inspiration.


In addition to card-making projects we also have another artist joining the event-planning team, Anuradha Halder, of Anuradha’s Fine Arts. She’ll be teaching participants how to paint some beautiful red flowers. Look at her sample below.


Check out more of her work at her website and Facebook Page.



Thank you for stopping by! If you LIKE this post, please click the ♥️ icon below. If you LOVE this post, please subscribe.







39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page