top of page

HCBC - Ukrainian Support

Hello! Today I want to share with you a card that was created in hopes to raise awareness and generate donations. It also was created within the guidelines of the Just Add Ink #592 challenge "Just Add Two". I used Texture and Layers in my project.



The design for this card started when I saw a post on Instagram, to help support Ukranian shop owners & creators on Etsy. I was browsing downloadable items from several shops and saw this Ukrainian country SVG. Using my CricutMaker, I cut the country outline out of Basic White card stock.

I then played around with our various coloring tools to see which colors would match the flag colors the closest. This resulted in Stampin' Write markers, Pacific Point and Daffodil Delight. The LIGHT Night of Navy Stampin' Blends was another option. AND if you only have the stamp pads you could always use a water painter, or the direct stamp pad to paper method.


I was surprised by the results with the Stampin' Write markers (which are not intended to "blend" well). It added a wonderful streaky texture that added more interest to the card. The more layers of Stampin' Write ink that you add the darker the results.


Tip: I used a scoring stylus (or you could use a pencil to trace the inside of the country silhouette to know how much color you need to lay down (to make sure to "fill in" the country outline).

I decided to also add another layer of additional subtle texture using the Wild Roses background stamp and clear embossing powder, and then yet ANOTHER layer of interest with the Painted Texture embossing folder.

Then came a big decision... What did I want to embellish the card within and how did I want to place it on the card? I played around with the large sunflower outline from Sunflower Dies, and also a stamped globe from the retired Beautiful World stamp set (an amazing stamp set by the way... I've used it many times).

The end result was the globe centered and paired with an important sentiment. "You Matter" from the NEW LIMITED TIME offering of the "All Together" product suite. This stamp set has meaningful images and sentiments to encourage support, togetherness, kindness, and love.

The overall message of my card; "Ukraine is an independent country, but more importantly it's a part of the greater world, a part of humanity as a whole. They don't matter less than any other country and neither should anyone within their borders, whether they're natives or not. Every human life is valuable."

Materials:

- Here Together Stamp Set

- Wild Roses Background Stamp

- Beautiful World Stamp Set (retired)

- Globe Dies (retired)

- Sunflower Dies

- Painted Texture Embossing Folder

- Gold Embossing Powder / Versamark Ink


Thanks for stopping by! If you LIKE this post, please click the ❤️ icon below. If you LOVE this post, please subscribe. If you want to comment or ask a question without joining my website look for the blue comment box at the bottom of this page.



102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page