top of page

Framed Fall Sunflowers

Fall is right around the corner, and our Stampin' team's monthly swap theme is Fall/Autumn. I knew I wanted to use the Celebrate Sunflower set to create some fall-colored florals. I often frame the front of my cards with an extra layer of card stock, so I'm also entering this card into the Just Add Ink - Challenge 566 "Add a Frame".


I also wanted to share a new share a tip, discovered as I was practicing coloring. The Stampin' Blends alcohol markers are conveniently paired in a set to allow for easy blending and dimension when coloring stamps. However, after watching a couple Kit & Clowder marker coloring tutorials, I saw value in using some additional darker shades to really add depth and dimension to the final colored project. There aren't any darker "reds" in the Stampin' Blends category, however there was a darker red in the Stampin' Write markers. You can find the inspirational free tutorial on YouTube from Kit & Clowder at this link. I am also working on a Stampin' Up Blends & Stampin' Write Markers coloring tutorial for these sunflowers. Check out the written overview below.


For the petals, the Cherry Cobbler color blended so well, so I chose the Merry Merlot Stampin’ Write marker to add shadow and accents that wouldn’t necessarily blend in. For the center of the flower, I used the Early Espresso and Soft Suede Stampin’ Write markers to add the detailed texture. By combining the wonderful shades of the Blends, with the added depth and texture added by Stampin' Write Markers, you're able to get a more realistic finished project.


For the petals, the Cherry Cobbler color blended so well, so I chose the Merry Merlot Stampin’ Write marker to add shadow and accents that wouldn’t necessarily blend in. For the center of the flower, I used the Early Espresso and Soft Suede Stampin’ Write markers to add the detailed texture. By combining the wonderful shades of the Blends, with the added depth and texture added by Stampin' Write Markers, you're able to get a more realistic finished project.


My first couple attempts took 35-45 minutes because I don't color often, and I was playing around with various techniques, shading, blending, etc. I needed to create 10 of these, and so by the 3rd/4th sunflowers, I was down to an estimated 25 min per flower.




Petals Coloring Tips/Overview

1. Stamp the image using Sahara Sand, and stamp off to get an even lighter image to trace/color over.


2. For the Petals, start with the darkest shade and draw lines tracing "behind the petals" using the fine tip. I don't draw dark lines along the edge of the flower/petals. These darker lines are acting as a shadow of one petal on top of another.

3. Continuing to use the darkest shade, I added some additional shadowing on the furthest/lowest petals. And also I traced some of the stamped "accents/details" on each of the sunflower petals. I WAS NOT being exact with the accent tracing and I WAS NOT paying attention to where the light source was coming from. That would have added a lot more time to my coloring, and so this was where I shaved off some time.


4. Using the darkest shade, I also added a ring of dark color just outside of the center of the flower.


5. Each of the Stampin' Blends comes in a pair, one dark and one light. Using the darker Blends marker, add a little color right next to all of the lines you just drew with the darkest shade. I used the firm tip to do this, not the "brush" tip.


6. Using the lighter Blends marker, I filled in the rest of the petals. I used the "brush" tip to get a finer point at the edge of each petal.

Optionally: Add additional accents on the petals using the Stampin' Write markers (to minimize the blending) and see the accents more.


Flower Center Coloring Tips/Overview

See the time-lapse video after step 7.


1. Using the darkest shade of brown, Early Espresso Stampin' Write marker, and the "brush" tip, I added a dark ring along the edge of the flower center.

2. Continue using the same marker, "brush" tip, I added big dots of color along the edge of this dark ring, and dotted around the center as well.

3. Using the same marker, "fine" tip, to add an additional layer of dots along the same areas with the bigger dots.

4. Using the brush tip of the Light Soft Suede Blends marker I added a circle/oval of color between the two dark circles of color and the very center.

5. Using the brush tip of the Bronze Blends marker I added color over the Early Espresso areas. At this point there should be no more "white" in the flower center.

6. Using the Soft Suede Stampin' Write marker brush tip, add bigger dots along side the darkest Early Espresso bigger dots.

7. Using the Soft Suede Stampin' Write marker fine tip, finish adding texture along side the bigger dots.


TIME-LAPSE VIDEO of the Flower Center



Materials

Celebrate Sunflowers Stamp Set

Basic White Thick Card Stock Sahara Sand Ink Cherry Cobbler Light/Dark Blends Merry Merlot Stampin Write Early Espresso Stampin Write Bronze Blends Soft Suede Light Blends Soft Suede Stampin Write




Thanks for stopping by! If you LIKE this post, please click the ❤️ icon below. If you LOVE this post, please subscribe. If you want to comment or ask a question without joining my website look for the blue comment box at the bottom of this page.

149 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page