top of page

HCBC - A few hand-made touches for a 1st Birthday

A friend‘s daughter was turning 1 and so naturally she started creating her Pinterest board. As she started pinning some ideas, I reminded her I could help by making some of the items she was interested in. And she never really identified a theme, but the pins were comprised of pink and gold, cute tutus and crowns, beautiful oversized balloon garlands, flowers, tissue paper pom poms and rosettes.


A day before the party, the mama inflated 100+ balloons, arranged the rest of the photo set, baked and decorated a cake, and took her daughter's Smash Cake photos (not to mention much more prep for the rest of the party). This picture of the carnage was really artistic, I just loved it.



The first item we settled on was a “O-N-E” banner. 3D gold letters, layered, with a rosette. inspired by APopofConfettiCo shop on Etsy. I used my Cricut Maker to cut the banner pink/white pieces and the chipboard letters. I used modge podge and Marquee Chunky glitter and some great designer paper from Michaels



She also fell in love with some oversized paper flowers for wall decorations, inspired by the Dragon on the Fly shop on Etsy. I used my iPad Pro and Apple Pencil to hand draw some petals and leaves and then designed the flowers in Cricut Design Space. There are some great YouTube tutorails for creating oversized paper flowers. My finished flowers were 12”, 8”, and 4”. I used Recollections Cardstock from Michaels.




She bought some rosettes from Etsy and decided she needed some tissue paper pom poms for hanging above the kitchen island and the stairs. I convinced her we could make them for super cheap, but when we went to get the tissue paper at Target, we got a little carried away buying gorgeous pink shades, gold and other specialty paper. These are super affordable to make if you’re a tissue paper hoarder like myself. Again, lots of great YouTube tutorials on making these pom poms at home.

Her aunt had the amazing idea when fluffing the pom poms to only do half of the globe, resulting in flower-looking pom poms which were much easier to arrange on walls and stairs.










She hadn’t thought about it, but I asked if she was interested in a cake topper, like a pennant banner that said “O-N-E” and since we were doing a bunch of pom poms anyways, I thought it would be fun to tie in a mini pom pom idea on the cake toppers also. She came up with the triangle pennant topper, and I decided to surprise her with the topper that matched the big “O-N-E” banner we designed together. She also made the executive decision that we needed two cake toppers one for the smash cake and one for the actual party.


The last thing I helped with on the day of the party was making an identical onesie to the one she purchased on Etsy (Peanutandtot shop). We weren’t sure if the one she purchased would survive a cleaning after being cake smashed with pink icing. So I used Cricut gold glitter iron on material, my new EasyPress and a basic white onesie from Target.


I helped add some hand-made touches to this party, but this mama had the vision and pulled it all together beautifully. Mama purchased the custom balloon garlands from HaightAvenueParty shop on Etsy. Great job Ann and Happy Birthday Isabella!!



Thank you for stopping by! If you LIKE this post, please click the ❤️ icon below. If you LOVE this post, please subscribe.

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page